Reality Digest

List of 45 Active Insurgent Groups Operating in Manipur

(Picture: Mash Somi)

Since India’s independence in 1947, Manipur has been a breeding ground for insurgent groups. The northeastern Indian state bordering Myanmar, is also known to be a hub of cross-border smuggling of arms and drugs.

Currently, several of them are under Suspension of Operation and Ceasefire Agreements with the government. The newly floated United National Liberation Front of Western South-East Asia (UNLFWSEA) that includes five more rebel outfits from the northeastern region led by NSCN-K chief SS Khaplang was involved on the ambush on an Army unit in Chandel district earlier this June.

Below is the full list of Insurgent Groups actively operating in Manipur today (Data updated as on October 25, 2015);

1. Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP)
2. Kanglei Yawol Kanna Lup (KYKL)
3. Manipur People’s Liberation Front (MPLF)
4. People’s Revolutionary Party of Kangleipak (PREPAK)
5. People’s Liberation Army (PLA)
6. United National Liberation Front (UNLF)
7. Coordination Committee (CorCom)
8. Manipur Naga Revolutionary Front (MNRF)
9. Nationalist Socialist Council of Nagaland -Khaplang (NSCN-K)
10. Nationalist Socialist Council of Nagaland- Issak Muivah (NSCN-IM)
11. Nationalist Socialist Council of Nagaland – Reformation (NSCN-R)
12. Naga National Council/Federal Government of Nagaland – Adino (NNC/FGN)
13. People’s United Liberation Front (PULF)
14. Zeliangrong United Front (ZUF)
15. Chin Kuki Revolutionary Front (CKRF)
16. Hmar People’s Convention (HPC)
17. Hmar Revolutionary Front (HRF)
18. Indigenous People’s Revolutionary Alliance (IRPA)
19. Iripak Kanba Lup (IKL)
20. Islamic Revolutionary Front (IRF)
21. Islamic National Front (INF)
22. Kangleipak Kanba Kanglup (KKK)
23. Kangleipak Liberation Organisation (KLO)
24. Kom Rem People’s Convention (KRPC)
25. Kuki Defence Force (KDF)
26. Kuki Independent Army (KIA)
27. Kuki International Force (KIF)
28. Kuki Liberation Front (KLF)
29. Kuki National Volunteers (KNV)
30. Kuki National Front (KNF)
31. Kuki Revolutionary Front (KRF)
32. Kuki Security Force (KSF)
33. Manipur Liberation Tiger Army (MLTA)
34. North East Minority Front (NEMF)
35. People’s Republican Army (PRA)
36. Revolutionary Joint Committee (RJC)
37. United Islamic Liberation Army (UILA)
38. United Islamic Revolutionary Army (UIRA)
39. Zomi Revolutionary Army (ZRA)
40. Kuki National Organisation (KNO)
41. Kangleipak Communist Party-Lamphel (KCP-Lamphel)
42. Military Defence Force faction of Kanglei Yowel Kanna Lup (KYKL-MDF)
43. United Revolutionary Front (URF)
44. United People’s Front (UPF)
45. United People’s Party of Kangleipak (UPPK)

You Might Also Like

To Top