North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU)

North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU), located in the state of Meghalaya, is a Central University established on July 19, 1973 by an Act of the Indian Parliament.

The university has two campuses, one at Shillong, and the other at Tura in Garo Hills district of Meghalaya. The university offers post graduate programmes in more than 20 conventional disciplines including science, social science, humanity, languages, management and law.

It has established itself as a centre for excellence and qualitative education, with eight distinct schools of learning. The  university has attracted students from different corners of the country and a substantial number of foreign students in campuses, pursuing post graduate and PhD programmes. The University is also actively engaged in collaborative research projects involving international institutes and universities.

Initially the university had a jurisdiction extending originally to the states of  Meghalaya and Nagaland and the erstwhile Union Territories of Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram, until the establishment of the Nagaland University on 6th September 1994, the jurisdiction of NEHU ceased over Nagaland.

And with the establishment of the Mizoram University on July 2, 2001, the jurisdiction of NEHU over Mizoram also ceased. Arunachal Pradesh has its own Rajiv Gandhi University now.

There are 53 undergraduate colleges affiliated to the university including eight professional colleges.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top