Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya to get Separate High Courts

Three northeastern states – Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya – most likely to get their own full-fledged high courts by December or January. According to a press release issued by IANS today, the required formalities are almost completed, and now it is entirely up to the apex court and the union law and justice ministry to issue the necessary notification for the purposes.

Currently, the six northeastern states of Tripura, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh have benches of the Guwahati High Court. Sikkim has a separate high court.

“The Tripura government already has all the necessary infrastructure to set up a separate high court in Agartala.” Datamohan Jamatia, secretary, Tripura law department, told IANS.

The Assam High Court was constituted on April 5, 1948, and initially located in Shillong (formerly the state capital of Assam), now the Meghalaya capital. It shifted to Guwahati on August 14, 1948.  Under the North-Eastern Areas (Re-organisation) Act, 1971, Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya became full-fledged states on Jan 21, 1972.

You Might Also Like

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top